Setup Red5 (0.9.1 Final) + FFMPEG on Centos 6.3 (64-Bit)

I am sorry to publish this post early. Working on the writings. But i already got success on it. You can knock me with question.

Ehsan.

I know its kinda strange that on 2012 i am working on an old version Red5 0.9.1 Final (21 February 2010). Believe me, i am also thinking same till August 01, 2012. But not right now. Cause the stability and flexibility issue. My old red5 applications were not working on the new one. And my client was getting prepared to kick my butt. So for 2 month, i will stick on Red5 0.9.1 and will start my research work later.

If you are a new-bee on red5, this post will be helpful to you. And if you already carried a lot of honey, sorry i can’t help you.

On July 2012, i have win a project to setup red5 server+FFMPEG+other stuff on a dedicated server(constant.com) for a video publishing/hosting site. The server OS would be centOS 6.3 64Bit. I thought ok. Let’s get the challenge. I prepare myself to setup the red5 first on that fresh PC. By the way, i got a SSH access on the server. Ok, i check all the tutorial on the web to setup RED5 (install java, ant, SVN and configure things etc.) and have a temp smiling on my face that i got success on install. But temp smiling don’t last too long. My old apps not working there. I know that RED5 team changes web.xml and conf+build fileformats by the help of other site. But i have not enough time to do research on it. So i prepare my to do list.
To Do

  1. Tell the support guy to setup CentOS 6.3 in fresh and openSSH connection for me + access.
  2. Install openJDK 1.6.0
  3. Download Red5 0.9.1 Server on Server
  4. Setup Red5
  5. Configure Red5
  6. Install FFMPEG
  7. Install gcc
  8. Install FLVtools2 and MP4 box.

Setup CentOS 6.3

Yeap. The support team was good enough. They help me about setup and access.

Install openJDK 1.6.0

Please google about openJDK to know details blabla about it. I would like to suggest you to install openJDK 1.6.0 to the server becaz Red5 0.9.1 Final have some attached sample WAR which

Leave a comment

Filed under Red5

Leave a comment